Race Of Champions winners crowned at Texas Motorplex’s South Central Division Summit Series Finals; Eliminations continue Sunday

October 11, 2008 by  
Filed under Latest News


Saturday October 11, 2008

ENNIS, Texas – More than 600 of the top bracket racers in NHRA’s South Central division have converged on Texas Motorplex in the hunt for individual and team honors.  Today, the best of the best squared off in the Race of Champions, a race within a race featuring the top points earning drivers from each track.

Don Davidson, Gilmer, Texas, racing for Red River Raceway, scored the win in the Electronics class.  He drove his ’68 Camaro to the win over Jake Stephens of Powderly, Texas, running for Paris Dragstrip. Burleson, Texas, resident Austin Williams took the win for North Star Dragway over Vic Penrod of Walters, Okla., running for Sooner Motorplex, in the No Electronics class.  Williams was also the runner-up in the High School category.  In that race, he was bested by David Jones, Kemp, Texas, who earned the win for Cherokee County Motorsports Park.

Today’s other action included the Track Manager’s Race which lets those who officiate races all year compete against their counterparts.  In the end, Adam Attaway won for Cherokee County Motorsports Park, beating out Texas Raceway’s Chris Godwin.

Sunday is eliminations day at Texas Motorplex.  Racers in six categories, including Super Pro, Pro, No Electronics Quick, No Electronics Street, and Motorcycle, are vying for a share of the purse worth nearly $26,000.  The winners in each category will advance to compete against winners from NHRA’s other six divisions at the NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., in November.  (There will be a run-off between the winners in Super Pro and Pro to determine who will go to Pomona.)  They will each receive $3,500 for competing in Pomona and the winner in each class at Pomona will receive a $5,000 payday.  Participants in the High School class, compete for trophies.

The following are the results from Saturday’s Race of Champions at the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Finals at Texas Motorplex:

Don Davidson, Gilmer, Texas, Red River Raceway, ’68 Camaro, 10.896, 131.99 def.
Jake Stephens, Powderly, Texas, Paris Dragstrip, ’68 Camaro, 10.644, 130.09

Austin Williams, Burleson, Texas, North Star Dragway, ’69 Camaro, 11.286, 108.75 def.
Vic  Penrod, Walters, Okla., Sooner Motorplex, ’02 Camaro, 10.471, 122.37

David Jones, Kemp, Texas, Cherokee County Motorsports Park, ’67 Chevy II, 13.032, 103.14 def.
Austin Williams, Burleson, Texas, North Star Dragway, ’03 Mustang, 16.490, 71.23

Adam Attaway, Cherokee County Motorsports Park, 14.043, 100.40 def.
Chris Godwin, Texas Raceway, 15.288, 87.67


Comments are closed.

For event information or tickets please call 972-878-2641
or 1-800-MOTORPLEX (1-800-668-6775)