October 2, 2011 by  
Filed under Uncategorized



            ENNIS, Texas – Alvie Merrill led the team from Thunder Valley Raceway Park to the Team Championships and pick up his own in the No-Electronics Quick class at this weekend’s NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Finals at Texas Motorplex.  Merrill, from Edmond, Okla., used a hole-shot starting line advantage, and a 6.367 second run on a 6.36 dial-in in his ’94 Camaro, to edge out Michael “Drew” Porcher, Conroe, Texas, in an ’88 S-10 running 6.232 at 111.83 mph.  Merrill and his teammates from ThunderValley, Noble, Okla., gather up 71 points to defend their team championship from a year ago with North Star Dragway and Royal Purple Raceway finishing 2nd and 3rd.

           TulsaRacewayParkhad a pair of drivers race to the winner’s circle as Brian Hughes and Thomas Klemme took home trophies in the Pro and Motorcycle classes.  Hughes, Longview, Texas, powered his ’79 Firebird past Jack Mauldin Jr., Groesbeck, Texas, with a 6.435 second pass at 100.21 mph with Mauldin coming in at 6.402, 111.74 in his ’70 Nova.  Klemme, Davenport, Iowa, road his ’76 K2 900 to a lap of 5.544 at 121.67 mph in out running Jason Moody, Tomball, Texas, going 6.396, 105.36 on his ’77 Kawasaki.

            Jeromy Hefler out ofKennedale,Texas, joined in on the fun picking up the win inNo-Electronics Streetover Brad Young,Ft. Worth,Texas.  Hefler drove the ’71 Capri that his brother Jeff won in last year, to a 7.843, 83.87 mph win with Young posting a 7.824, 80.33 in his ’67 Camaro.

            In Super Pro it was Randell Reid running for Hobbs Raceway with a 0.019 second package in his ’07 dragster to defeat Dylan Lee,Austin,Texas.  Reid’s lap of 4.725, 144.47 mph was too much forAustin’s 5.096 at 134.16.  Reid went on to win the run off with the Pro winner Hughes and will advance to the NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championship next month at the Auto Club NHRA Finals inPomonaCalif., along with Merrill, Hefler, and Klemme where they will face the winner’s from the other six NHRA divisions for a purse of more than $100,000.


The following are the final results from the NHRA South Central Division Summit Racing Series Finals at Texas Motorplex:


Team Championship

ThunderValleyRacewayPark          71

TexasRaceway                       61

North Star Dragway               52

Royal Purple Raceway            51

TulsaRaceway Park                42

HobbsMotorsports Park         40

TexasMotorplex                     37

No Problem Raceway             34

ParisDragstrip                                    29

EdinburgInt’l Raceway                     19


Super Pro

Randell Reid,Bridgeport,Texas, ‘07 dragster, 4.725 seconds, 144.47 mph def. Dylan Lee,Austin,Texas, ’05 dragster, 5.096, 134.16



Brian Hughes,Longview,Texas, ’79 Firebird, 6.435, 100.21 def. Jack Mauldin Jr,Groesbeck,Texas, ’70 Nova, 6.402, 111.74


Non-Electronics Quick

Alvie Merrill,Edmond,Okla., ’94 Camaro, 6.367, 106.65 def. Michael “Drew” Porcher,Conroe,Texas, ’88 S-10, 6.232, 111.83


No-Electronics Street

Jeromy Hefler,Kennedale,Texas’71 Capri, 7.843, 83.87 def. Brad Young,Ft. Worth,Texas, ’67 Camaro, 7.824, 80.33



Thomas Klemme,Davenport,Iowa, ’76 K2 900, 5.544, 121.67 def. Jason Moody,Tomball,Texas, ‘77Kawasaki, 6.396, 105.36


Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking

You must be logged in to post a comment.

For event information or tickets please call 972-878-2641
or 1-800-MOTORPLEX (1-800-668-6775)