October 21, 2013 by  
Filed under Latest News

ENNIS, Texas – Thunder Valley Raceway Park raced to the NHRA Summit Racing
Series South Central Division Team Championship at Texas Motorplex this
weekend while four scored individual championships and are heading to the
Summit National Championship in Pomona, Calif., next month.

Thunder Valley, Lexington, Okla., racked up 70 points in the team
competition led by Kyle White and Alvie Merrill who took home the trophies
in Super Pro and No Electronics Quick. The host team from Texas Motorplex
held on for second place with 57 points with Royal Purple Raceway, Baytown,
Texas, finishing in third with 56 points.

White, Moore, Okla., defeated Ken Mullen, Oklahoma City, in the Super Pro
final then went on to beat the Pro Champion Max McGlothin in the run off to
determine who will represent the South Central Division in Pomona. White’s
4.940 second pass at 140.34 was enough to hold off the quicker Mullen,
4.654, 147.89. McGlothin, Carrolton, Texas, drove his ’71 Camaro to the win
in Pro at 6.693, 77.69 over Joey Cram, Texas City, Texas, and his ’72 Nova,
8.959, 54.12 mph.

Merrill, Edmond, Okla., ran down Austin Williams in No Electronics Quick
running 6.323, 106.12 in his ’94 Camaro with Williams, Burleson, Texas,
clocking in at 6.777, 100.34 in his ’08 dragster.

Jeff Hefler will make his 4th trip to Pomona and the NHRA Summit Racing
Series National Championship taking the win in No Electronics Street. The
Ft. Worth, Texas, racer won over Jeremy Falkenbach, Ennis, Texas,
representing Texas Motorplex. Hefler went 7.648, 83.40 in his ’65 Impala to
Falkenbach’s 7.556, 89.16 in his ’81 El Camino. Hefler won the national
championship in 2010 having advanced to the national finals in 2006, 2010,
2012 and now in 2013. Both Hefler’s brother Jeromy and Dad Jerry have also
won division championships and raced for the national title in Pomona,

John Fitzpatrick, Park City, Kan., rode his ’95 Suzuki to the win in the
Motorcycle class and will join White, Merrill, and Hefler in Pomona to face
off with the champions from the six other NHRA Divisions. Fitzpatrick went
5.489 at 122.51 to defeat Thomas Klemme, Davenport, Iowa posting a time of
5.583, 122.48.

In the division’s Summit Race of Champions event held on Saturday is was
Jeff Riedel, David Olinde, and Hunter Patton taking the wins. The Race of
Champions pits the top point’s earners from each track against each other in
head to head competition.

Patton, Highlands, Texas, was pulling double duty competing in both the
Electronics and the High School ROC competition taking the win in High
School over Dillon Warren, Noble, Okla., in 8.539 seconds in his ’79 Mustang
to Warren’s 9.470 in his ’87 Mustang.

Dillon faced off with Riedel in the Electronics class for the double-up but
Riedel, North Richland Hills, Texas, would have nothing to do with it,
taking out Patton with a run of 6.446 seconds at just under 100 mph in his
’77 Camaro.

Olinde, Lakeland, La., won in No Electronics when Robin Phelps, Owasso,
Okla., left early with a red-light foul start in a final that saw two Nova’s
match up against each other. Olinde ran it out to a 7.469, 91.45 mph lap
for the win.

In the Track Managers Race it was Cody Pollage scoring back to back wins out
of No Problem Raceway defeating Garry Crowley, Crowley, Texas.

The following are the final results from the NHRA South Central Division
Summit Racing Series event at Texas Motorplex:


1. Thunder Valley Raceway Park 70

2. Texas Motorplex 57

3. Royal Purple Raceway 56

4. Tulsa Raceway Park 51

5. Texas Raceway 49

6. Paris Dragstrip 32

7. No Problem Raceway 14


Kyle White, Moore, Okla., ’07 American, 4.940, 140.34 def. Ken Mullen,
Oklahoma City, ’07 dragster, 4.654, 147.89.


Max McGlothin, Carrolton, Texas, ’71 Camaro, 6.693, 77.69 def. Joey Cram,
Texas City, Texas, ’72 Nova, 8.959, 54.12.


Alvie Merrill, Edmond, Okla., ’94 Camaro, 6.323, 106.12 def. Austin
Williams, Burleson, Texas, ’08 TNT, 6.777, 100.34.


Jeff Hefler, Ft Worth, Texas, ’65 Impala, 7.648, 83.40 def. Jeremy
Falkenbach, Ennis, Texas, ’81 El Camino, 7.556, 89.16.


John Fitzpatrick, Park City, Kan., ’95 Suzuki, 5.489, 122.51 def. Thomas
Klemme, Davenport, Iowa,

’87 Kawasaki, 5.583, 122.48.

The following are Saturday’s final results from the 2013 NHRA Summit Racing
Series South Central Division Race of Champions:


Jeff Riedel, North Richland Hills, Texas, ’77 Camaro, 6.446, 99.44 def.
Hunter Patton, Highlands, Texas, ’79 Mustang, 4.773, 139.93.


David Olinde, Lakeland, La., ’72 Nova, 7.469, 91.45 def. Robin Phelps,
Owasso, Okla., ’69 Nova, foul.


Hunter Patton, Highlands, Texas, ’79 Mustang, 8.539, 73.89 def. Dillon
Warren, Noble, Okla., ’87 Mustang, 9.470, 75.28.


Cody Pollage, Plaquemine, La., ’87 Monte Carlo, 9.838, 62.75 def. Garry
Gilland, Crowley, Texas, Chevy P/U, 10.101, 67.70.


Comments are closed.

For event information or tickets please call 972-878-2641
or 1-800-MOTORPLEX (1-800-668-6775)