ENNIS, TX (March 28, 2022) — The 2nd annual Funny Car Chaos Classic at Texas Motorplex once again proved the interest, passion and quality of nostalgia Funny Cars has never been higher. For three days some of the best Funny Cars from across the country tested, qualified and raced to open the Funny Car Chaos season. There were 57 Funny Cars on final qualifying sheet and over 60 on the property that experienced amazing weather and big crowds on Friday and Saturday.

“Last year we were thrilled with the event and we couldn’t wait to get back for the 2nd annual Funny Car Chaos Classic,” said Christie Meyer Johnson, Texas Motorplex co-owner. “This year’s event was amazing. The racing action was great and we added events like the Legend Storytellers in the Champions Club. It was so great to see some of the legends of Funny Car being recognized and celebrated.”

On Saturday night it was No. 8 qualifier Lyle Greenberg and his “Cone Hunter” 1978 Chevy Funny Car taking the final win light of the “A” Field. Greenberg had a competition bye after No. 1 qualifier Brad Tuttle did not make a pass in the final.

In the “B” Field final it was Donald Knoblauch and his “Atomic Punk” team getting the win over Mike Newkirk. Knoblauch, who had the No. 14 qualified Funny Car overall, got to the finish line first with a winning 3.874 second pass at 189.19 mph over Newkirk’s 4.108 second, 197.07 mph run.

After the three rounds of qualifying Clay Cunningham was sitting No. 22. He landed in the “C” Field and drove the “Still Crazy” team to victory outrunning Dustin Bradford 3.993 seconds at 182.17 mph for the win. Cunningham’s winning time was his lowest ET of the event nudging past his 3.994 second pass in the semifinals.

In one of the closest races of the day Steve Timoszyk, who had the No. 41 qualified Funny Car, raced his “Detroit Tiger” team to the “D” Field win over Jade Cook. Timoszyk’s winning time of 4.108 seconds at 180.73 mph was just enough to get in front of Cook’s 4.292 second, at 163.05 mph run. His time as a huge improvement over his qualifying effort and brought the crowd to their feet.

Finally, Keith Zimmerer took the Fuel Altered title racing the “Penny Pincher” Fuel Altered.

The Funny Car Chaos event will return to Texas Motorplex October 7-8 to wrap up its season and kick off the 2nd annual Stampede of Speed. For tickets for more information visit