Current Weather: clear sky

Track Status:



The History of the Track

“It was like a field of dreams”

-Don “The Snake” Prudhomme recalls his first glimpse of Texas Motorplex


Built in 1986, The Texas Motorplex has been the place of many drag racing milestones and world record performances. Ever since Darrell Gwynn christened the first all-concrete, quarter-mile, national records and speed milestones have been commonplace at Texas Motorplex.

The Texas Motorplex is a favorite of drivers for the all-concrete race surface and ideal weather conditions, NHRA national events at Texas Motorplex commonly yield national records. Season championship titles are commonly clinched here and race fans get a great speed show!


Texas Motorplex is 500 ft. above sea level.

Texas Motorplex Milestones

Nov. 1985
– Billy Meyer signs an agreement to host an NHRA event the following September, before ground was broken on the facility.

Jan. 1986
– Ground breaks for Texas Motorplex – designed to be the first post tension, all-concrete, quarter-mile facility specifically created for drag racing.

Sept. 25, 1986
– Darrell Gwynn runs 5.280 to set Top Fuel E.T. record with the first national event pass ever.

April 1987
– Texas Motorplex becomes the first non-NHRA-owned track to host two national events.

– Texas Motorplex opens the Divisional 4 Hall of Fame, becoming the only track to host a hall of fame.

– Texas Motorplex becomes the first facility to build a permanent hospitality structure to host fans in a VIP atmosphere; originally known as The Top Eliminator Club and now known as the Champion’s Club.

April 9, 1988
– Eddie Hill turns in the first four-second quarter mile pass – a 4.990 run.

Oct. 19, 1997
– Cory McClenathan makes the first pass in the 320 mph-range – a 321.77 run.

Oct. 24, 1998
– Gary Scelzi, John Force, Warren Johnson and Larry Kopp lead the quickest qualifying field in NHRA history.

Oct. 23, 1999
– En route to his first NHRA championship, Top Fuel driver Tony Schumacher earns his first national event victory.

Oct. 23, 1999
– John Force clinched his ninth NHRA Funny Car championship by defeating Tommy Johnson Jr. in the quickest side-by-side race in Funny Car history.

Sept. 23, 2004
– Texas Motorplex becomes the first NHRA track in the country to have starting line balcony seating in the tower suites.

Sept. 26, 2004
– Greg Anderson clinches his second consecutive NHRA Pro Stock title at Texas Motorplex. Anderson clinched the title sooner than any other driver in NHRA history.

Sept. 23, 2007
– John Force and Kenny Bernstein crash after their second-round matchup in Final Eliminations. Force is severely injured and doesn’t race again until the 2008 season. Force would earn a semifinal finish at Texas Motorplex in 2008 and a second-round finish in 2009.

Sept. 26, 2010
– John Force vows to win at Texas Motorplex again and earns his first final round appearance at Texas Motorplex since his 2007 crash, earning a runner-up finish against Matt Hagan.

Texas Motorplex Track Records

Top Fuel
ET 3.761 seconds by JR Todd Sept. 2014
326.71 mph by Doug Kalitta
Sept. 2014
Funny Car
ET 4.039 seconds by Courtney Force Sept. 2014
MPH 314.90 mph by Courtney Force Sept. 2014
Pro Stock
ET 6.550 seconds by Allen Johnson Sept. 2012
MPH 211.99 mph by Allen Johnson Sept. 2012
Pro Stock Motorcycle
ET 6.828 seconds by Hector Arana Jr Sept. 2011
MPH 197.22 mph by Michael Phillips Sept. 2011