Posted on Friday May 22, 2020

Meyer, Bellemeur Lead Fields at Lonestar Nationals Lucas Oil Divisional

Meyer, Bellemeur Lead Fields at Lonestar Nationals Lucas Oil Divisional

ENNIS, TX (May 22, 2020) – After one day of qualifying at the Keurig Dr Pepper Lone Star Nationals presented by Driven Automotive Protection at the Texas Motorplex Megan Meyer and Sean Bellemeur sit atop the Top Alcohol Dragster and Top Alcohol Funny Car fields, respectively.

In the second session on Friday Meyer made the quickest pass of the session, 5.270 seconds at 275.45 mph and held on to the top qualifying spot in a crowded field of Top Alcohol Dragsters. Bellemeur improved over his first run of the day and leapt to the top spot with a 5.514 second pass at 265.90 mph.

The first round of qualifying wrapped up with Top Alcohol Dragster world champion Megan Meyer sitting at the top of the field with a 5.245 second run at 275.17 mph just ahead of Robin Samsel’s 5.313 and Mike Burns’ 5.340 second passes. In Top Alcohol Funny Car it was Robert McCosh posted a Q1 quick elapsed time of 5.631 seconds at 256.50 mph to outpace Sean Bellemeur’s 5.686 second and Steve Burck’s 5.724 second runs.   

On Saturday competitors in Top Alcohol Funny Car and Top Alcohol Dragster will battle it out for a winner’s purse of $3,500 in prize money. Additionally Mid-West Pro Mod drivers will be tearing up the track throughout the weekend. In addition to the record cash purse drivers will earn valuable Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series points.

Following a late afternoon announcement by Texas Governor Greg Abbott which allows outdoor motorsports events to operate at up to 25 percent of the normal operating limits as determined by the venue owner the Texas Motorplex will allow fans to attend the race on Saturday. Fans will be charged $15 per car and can order tickets online now.

The event, previously a participant only race, will still be broadcast on PPV. Fans will be able to enjoy the racing action for the low price of $15 by purchasing the event Pay Per View livestream on Ticketing with BangShift.  The entire event from the first burnout to the last win light will be broadcast with wildly entertaining Al Tucci calling the action.

The following are Friday’s qualifying results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, South

Central Division Keurig Dr. Pepper Lone Star Nationals presented by Driven Automotive Protection:


1) Megan Meyer, Olathe, Kan., 5.245 seconds, 275.45 mph

2) Robin Samsel, Marion, Ind., 5.313, 270.54

3) Rachel Meyer, Mount Vernon, Mo., 5.324, 270.81

4) Mike Burns, Bisbee, Ariz., 5.340, 271.95

5) Brandon Greco, Roscoe, Pa., 5.346, 267.80

6) Buddy Domingue, Port Neches, Texas, 5.399, 254.33

7) James Stevens, Gothenburg, Neb., 5.413, 258.37

8) Terry Schmidt, Tuttle, Okla., 5.425, 248.20

Not Qualified

9) Brandon Pierce, Cypress, Texas, 5.469, 247.57

10) Spencer Massey, Fort Worth, Texas, 5.557, 267.80

11) Dean Dubbin, Little Falls, Minn., 6.232, 139.72

12) Karl Brounkowski, Magnolia, Texas, 7.083, 125.72


1) Sean Bellemeur, Placentia, Calif., ’17 Camaro, 5.514 seconds, 265.90 mph

2) Doug Gordon, Paso Robles, Calif., ’20 Camaro, 5.557, 265.12

3) Annie Whiteley, Grand Junction, Colo., ’17 Camaro, 5.606, 265.59

4) Bob McCosh, Columbia, Mo., ’19 Camaro, 5.617, 260.16

5) Ray Drew, Hales Corners, Wis., ’20 Mustang, 5.634, 256.70

6) Steve Burck, Corpus Christi, Texas, ’17 Camaro, 5.711, 258.86

7) Bryan Brown, Gainesville, Texas, ’16 Camaro, 5.722, 256.70

8) Kyle Smith, Wichita, Kan., ’10 Mustang, 5.724, 251.72

Not Qualified

9) Jonathan Johnson, Woodway, Texas, ’20 Camaro, 5.843, 237.09

10) Bill Bernard, Littleton, Colo., ’09 Mustang, 5.902, 240.72